England Doesn’t Want You

A short story published in the Bristol Short Story Prize anthology

 

GUS BROOKS

TROUBADOUR
MADMAN
LIFE GAZER

POP UP X Click to exit

Gus Brooks
‘A better class of scum’
OUT NOW
on Riposte Records
Contains the tunes ‘England doesn’t want you’, ‘Love after love’ and
‘Stained by eyeliner’
Buy it HERE
LINK

 

Previous News
[Archived]

30 September
Fans, me-haters or those just curious, thank you for reading my musings! I expect mucho grande to seduce more of you to this blog thanks to the epic success of my new single. In this global climate of everyday disaster, can you believe we are actually selling a track? The kids aren’t downloading it gratis! ‘England doesn’t want you’ is set to be the biggest climber this week. Rocketing up from number 30 to number three. Hold on tight, we’re going STELLAR.

In case you can’t hear me properly on the audio [I do mumble], lyrics below:

CHORUS:
England doesn’t want you
England never loved you
England doesn’t want to
Be a part of you

VERSE:

England hate your food
England say it stinks
England do not care
What your mother thinks

(CHORUS)

VERSE:

England hate your music
Trainers, jeans and shirt
Says your face is stupid
And your hair is worse

(CHORUS)

BREAK:

England hate your brothers
England hate your lovers
Hate you when you work
Hate you when you don’t
Hate you when you hope
Hate you when you vote
England hate your country
Even if you believe
That country be England
Sing

(CHORUS)

Comments

There are no comments

 

1 October
A big old smacker goes out to my smashing gal Sal for giving me the encouragement and support over all these years. All her patience and understanding has been crucial to my success. She said to me – ‘Next week you will be number ONE’ and she is never wrong! It’s proof, darling, of all this pain we have shared over the years. She is the most beautiful girl in East London, which makes her the most beautiful girl in the world.

Comments

Buzzed2Infinifi
1/10/12 14:07 GMT
Totally kicking track. Totally made it. We’re with you since the beginning and now with you all the way, mate.

GavinThursday
1/10/12 14:20 GMT
Just bought the album TWICE!

MrWhite
1/10/12 14:45 GMT
When will you release the 2011 acoustic take of ‘Cougar Hearts’ live at the Electric Tank studios? I have found a bootleg copy, but the quality is sub-par and the vocal track is distorted. Is there a clean version available?

 

2 October
A massive cheer to the boys from the team for a brilliant win last night in the footie. Ace last minute victory thanks to Williams on the right. Cross was stupendous. What a header from Jones! Just heard from a friend who was at the game that the fans were chanting ‘England doesn’t want you’ on the terraces. What a result! But naturally it was because someone f-ed up. And that award goes to… Jason Welland, who (as you know) missed the penalty [the bar! OoooOF!]. As soon as the ball hit the woodwork, the chorus kicked off. It was pounding! My friend believes the song is so catchy it might become a fixture. A big LIKE goes out to England’s FANS.

Comments

FlooringGoldmine
2/10/12 19:09 GMT
Discount Laminate Flooring
Factory prices laminate flooring at heavy discounts of $0.49 per square foot.
Save up to 67 per cent on retail and 33 per cent on wholesale!
We deliver anywhere!
www.discountflooringexcellentdeal.com

 

3 October
FACT OF THE DAY
Sammy Kane – who is a TOTALLY better singer-songwriter than me – said that when it comes to lyrics, all that matters is the chorus. If the chorus packs a punch, it’s okay if the verses fire blanks [is that mixing a metaphor? Give us your thoughts!]

Comments

There are no comments

 

4 October
A big F. YOU goes to the Daily Herald. The Daily Herald printed an article declaring that ‘England Doesn’t Want You’ is RACIST. The article is a complete slag-off. It selects lyrics without looking at my full vision for the song. Apparently by repeating “England hate” in my “enlisting” of the “third person singular” in a noun next to the “first person singular form for an accompanying verb” is in imitation of an “Afro-Caribbean argot” that shows I am “less than civil to Britain’s black minority”. The writer – Quentin Murphy-Edwards – says that “Brooks’s defence may be that he is adopting an ironic stance, but will such a stance be respected in the council flats of Brixton and the destitute ex-industrial communities of Bradford and Sheffield?”. Today, my HUMUNGOUS LOVE goes out to Brixton, Bradford and Sheffield. You’re on the gig circuit next year, thanks to Quentin Murphy-Edwards.

Comments

TequilaSlamDunk
4/10/12 12:55 GMT
Muphy-Edwards does not now his arse from his eblow.

MrWhite
4/10/12 14:45 GMT
I am resending this message: When will you release the 2011 acoustic take of ‘Cougar Hearts’ live at the Electric Tank studios? I have found a bootleg copy, but the quality is sub-par and the vocal track is distorted. Is there a clean version available?

 

5 October
FACT OF THE DAY
It’s ALL about the fans.

Comments

There are no comments

 

6 October
Bad news again. Gus Brooks is MAJORLY sad. I saw these news reports about some little kid in Cheshire, a Muslim boy called Khalid, who was beaten up after school by some other kids, who I guess were white or definitely not-Muslim. Anyway, they kicked him about while they were chanting ‘England Doesn’t Want You’. He is now in hospital. The radio, TV and pundits are now calling for the song to be banned. FOR THE RECORD, PEOPLE, the song is not a song against Muslim kids. I love kids. And that INCLUDES Muslim kids. Ask Sal. One day, we’ll have LOADS of them. Once the third album and tour are over.

Comments

SpockTease
6/10/12 18:05 GMT
England DOES want you, Kaled.

 

7 October
The news reports are LEGION. Now I spend all my time fighting them off! I had to go on TV on the Toughtalk show with the presenter, Edward Burnstone, to explain why I AM NOT A racist. We aren’t allowed to connect to the video, I am told by some lawyer who apparently works for me. Therefore here is a transcript of what happened, courtesy of the TV station and my lovely PR person Janis, who was up last night with me getting this down.

 

PRESENTER: What do you say to Khalid Mustafa who was attacked by pupils from his school while they were singing your latest hit?
ME: I want to say I am like really sad about this because I don’t have anything NOTHING against little kids of any race, creed or whatnot.
PRESENTER: You say ‘England hate your brothers’. Do you mean black people?
ME: No, it means a brother who is like your brother, as in a family, not like a black brother as in a friend or a mate.
PRESENTER: You say ‘England hate your food, England think it stinks’. Is that a reference to any specific cuisine, which may be particularly aromatic?
ME: Such as curry?
PRESENTER: Yes, is it about curry?
ME: No, it could be about the food of any nation. Even Germans and cabbage or Italians and pasta.
PRESENTER: So it’s about race.
ME: Not just race, a people or a region in the country. Such as Newcastle.
PRESENTER: So one could create a link between your words and any race? It’s a one-size-fits-all song for racists?
ME: Let me tell you about my inspiration. This song is about me. About how I felt as a struggling singer-songwriter living in dire poverty. I was so poor. So massively poor. Not a poor you guys can probably understand with your big-time media careers and your suits and ties and nice hair. I felt left out of this country. I felt like England didn’t want me. It’s me that England doesn’t want, not some Muslim kid in Chester.
PRESENTER: But you’re successful now.
ME: That was then.
PRESENTER: So all along England did want you.
ME: It seems so.
PRESENTER: Yet you still sing the song.
ME: I once wrote a love song about wanting a girl but not having her. Later I got the girl, my lovely girlfriend of seven years. So should I stop singing that song?
PRESENTER: But don’t you see? The song has become a racist’s hymn.
ME: The problem is not the song, it’s racism.
PRESENTER: Will you keep singing the song?
ME: It’s my baby. I can’t let it go.

Comments

VladimirPutin
7/10/12 12:00 GMT
This comment has been removed for legal reasons.

Robot_Pancake
7/10/12 12:45 GMT
This comment has been removed for legal reasons.

FlooringGoldmine
7/10/12 19:35 GMT
Discount Laminate Flooring
Factory prices laminate flooring at heavy discounts of $0.49 per square foot.
Save up to 67 per cent on retail and 33 per cent on wholesale!
We deliver anywhere!
www.discountflooringexcellentdeal.com

 

8 October
Are you listening, Quentin Murphy-Edwards and Edward Burnstone? ‘England Doesn’t Want You’ is NOW topping the charts. Numero UNO. It is amazing. But there is bad news. I have just heard that the public radio are STOPPING playing it due to a large number of complaints. Plus a couple of commercial radio stations have also banned the song. This is ignorant and stupid. My PR Janis says this is censorship. She said they don’t want the people to hear me. When did England become a police state? Come on, fans, let’s fight back!

Comments

Two_Ball_Screwball
8/10/12 11:07 GMT
This comment has been removed for legal reasons.

VladimirPutin
8/10/12 18:09 GMT
This comment has been removed for legal reasons.

WickedPedia
8/10/12 19:47 GMT
This comment has been removed for legal reasons.

 

13 October
Bloody brilliant gig last night! Great effort from the moshpit as soon as we slammed the opening chords for ‘England’. I saw some faces in the audience that were not English as in a traditional white-sort-of-way, so that SHOWS you it is not a racist song. Anyway, in reaction to all this BOLLOCKS in the media and the SAD way that some people have tried to exploit my song, I have decided that from now on ALL THE MONEY from ‘England Doesn’t Want You’ will go to anti-racist groups.

Comments

SuffolkAngel
13/10/12 14:34 GMT
I think it is ace that you are raising the issue of racism in our country. It is still a huge problem and we really need to talk about it. Your song makes people talk and that is a good thing.

RollWithIt
13/10/12 14:56 GMT
THANK YOU TO YOUR SONG FOR STANDING UP FOR ALL THE REAL ENGLISH IN THIS COUNTRY AND AGAINST THESE FREELOADING IMMIGRANTS FROM ROMANIA, BULGARIA, INDIA, PAKISTAN, IRAK, AFRICA ETC…

SpockTease
13/10/12 15:20 GMT
Hey RollWithIt, I don;t think you get the song at all, mate. It is not in suport of racism it is against racism and the fact that racism is SHIT.

IranSucks
13/10/12 15:45 GMT
SpockTease – Just you wait! Soon those Ayatollas in Parliment force our kids to read the Koran in primry school.

VladimirPutin
13/10/12 16:34 GMT
This comment has been removed for legal reasons.

The_Horse_Whisperer
13/10/12 17:00 GMT
This comment has been removed for legal reasons.

HumbertX2
13/10/12 17:23 GMT
Get out fast of UN, EU, NATO. We must be a truly independent nation. We must stop the immigrants flooding into our country. We  must stop declaring our imperial heritage was bad for the world. We gave the world greatness. We gave the world the gift of England. But the world did not want it. The world did not want England. Now the only way is out.

SpockTease
13/10/12 18:06 GMT
Colonism was a riot, yeah, HumbertX2? What about all those massacres in Burma and India and Nigeria and other places where we killed lots of people cos they didn’t like us? We have BLOOD on our HANSD.

SpockTease
13/10/12 18:07 GMT
HANDS

 

14 October
Gus Brooks is AMAZINGLY sad to hear that the National Anti-Nazi Org has said it will NOT take the royalties from England Doesn’t Want You. It said it was pressured by its members to refuse. One of the guys from the org said it was like taking money from the Ku Kux Klan. I AM NOT THE KLAN, PEOPLE. Plus a couple of black, Jewish and Muslim groups have also said no to the donations. My PR Janis is FLABBERgasted. Guys. I want to help. ‘England Doesn’t Want You’ wants to help. We are not racist, comprende?

Comments

TheseArentTheFreudsYourLookingFor
14/10/12 13:54 GMT
This comment has been removed for legal reasons.

PusBrooks
14/10/12 14:40 GMT
This comment has been removed for legal reasons.

MrWhite
14/10/12 14:45 GMT
I am now getting very angry with you. I am resending this message once more: When will you release the 2011 acoustic take of ‘Cougar Hearts’ live at the Electric Tank studios? I have found a bootleg copy, but the quality is sub-par and the vocal track is distorted. Is there a clean version available?

 

16 October
I can’t believe what happened to me today. I was in the supermarket buying a packet of chicken escalopes for dinner, and the woman behind the till, I don’t know what you call her, she says to me: Are you paying for these chicken escalopes with the money from your racist song? I told her it was not racist and she should call the manager. She said you don’t want to talk to my manager. I said I don’t care. So the manager comes and he is a black man. Right, I have nothing against black men AS YOU ALL KNOW, but I wanted to continue with my complaint. I said the woman called me a racist. She said she didn’t call me a racist, but she said my song was racist. The manager apologised for the woman calling my song a racist. But he was kind of smiling. I wanted to say F. YOU. I really wanted to say F. YOU. But I didn’t say F. YOU. Because that’s not the kind of man I am.

Comments

BuckFast
16/10/12 13:23 GMT
You call her a cashier.

 

17 October
I don’t usually use this blog to write personal things. But I have another story and it is an  UTTERLY sad story and I want to tell this to you, my friends, the fans and even to the people who don’t like me and look on this blog to confirm why they don’t like me and want to laugh at me, because the sound of their laughter drowns out having to THINK and having to CARE.
Anyway I wanna tell you about what happened. It is to do with my girl.
First, let me give you some history.
We met at the Hop and Bark pub in Homerton seven years ago. A great little venue. They had an open mike night every Wednesday for aspiring songwriters. I was still in college and not knowing who I was or what I wanted to be. All I was sure of was that I was put on this planet to sing.
It was a competition. If you won, you got to do an extra set at the end of the evening, plus two free drinks. She was behind the bar. Me and the guitar knocked out a couple of tunes. I spied her from the stage. She was fitter than I ever thought fit could be. Black bobbed hair. Dark eyes. Beautiful eyeliner. Really dark and exciting. She was checking me out too, or so I thought. But when you’re onstage you think everyone in the crowd is into you. Afterwards I went to the bar and positioned myself so I was sure it was her who would serve me.
I remember the exact words we first spoke to each other.
“You’re too big for this dive,” she said.
“So are you,” I said.
“You calling me fat?” she said.
“I’m calling you great.”
“It sounds like a kind word for fat.”
I thought I had f-ed up. So I went to sit on my own with my pint. I had a couple of other drinks, but I didn’t buy them from her. At the end of the night, I won the competition. So I went back onstage.
Before I began my victory set, I said: “This one is for the girl in black behind the bar. If heaven is a pub, she’ll be serving the drinks.”
You got the biggest cheer of that evening, Sal. And in my heart every night since, even  when I am away, on the nights I go onstage, you always get a louder cheer from me.
It hasn’t been easy. It’s hard for a girl when you are going steady with a public figure like myself. The last 12 months on tour have seen some challenges. I won’t go into these right now. But things happen when you are a famous person working so closely with a bunch of people 24/7.
So last night we were just sitting in the pub and I was talking to her about all this shit I was getting from the media and from the people in the supermarket. Anyway, she turned to me and said “I am leaving you”. At first I could not say anything. So I asked her if it was because of the scandal. She said that no, it was not because of the scandal. I said I know I have been a bit crazy these days. She said that was not a problem, she would have told me earlier, but I seemed to be so angry every day, that she did not want to add to my problems. She decided a long time ago that it was over. It had been over since the tour began.
“What must I do to get you back?” I asked her.
She said she had to go outside for a cigarette.

Comments

GBdaBest
17/10/12 12:05 GMT
I. Am. In. Tears.

SpockTease
17/10/12 12:23 GMT
You are the spirt of the true England.

VladimirPutin
14/10/12 14:02 GMT
This comment has been removed for legal reasons.

MrWhite
17/10/12 14:45 GMT
I am asking one more time – when will you release the 2011 acoustic take of ‘Cougar Hearts’ live at the Electric Tank studios? I have found a bootleg copy, but the quality is sub-par and the vocal track is distorted. Is there a clean version available? Shouldn’t you be answering me, Mr Brooks? It’s ALL ABOUT THE FANS, eh?

 

19 October
Sorry I’ve been out of the picture. Slept for 25 hours straight. I dreamt of chasing rainbows across a metal hill packed with purple buttercups. Edgar Allen Poe was there drinking bourbon, while a litter of black cats crawled on his lap and on his shoulders. The sun was setting. But the sky would not stop being red. A bright red night. Then a bright right red day. It was beautiful and ugly at the same time. Since then, I’ve been obsessing about lot of things – life and stuff. ‘England’ is still riding high the top ten, but what does it mean, guys? What does it all mean, eh?

Comments

SpockTease
19/10/12 17:06 GMT
Life be bad, man.

 

22 October
Sal moved all her stuff out while I was in Derby doing a gig. She took her furniture, her cutlery and pots and pans and the TV. The house is virtually empty now. I realised I don’t have many belongings. All I had was hers. Except for a bunch of records.
Now I order take-away Chinese or Vietnamese food. I drink a decent bottle of red. One that costs over a tenner. I put the next disc on the turntable, watch the stylus hit the vinyl and then stare at the ceiling, at the blank wall or at the lamps on the street outside, while I lie in my living room on the carpet. I look at all the dimples in the fabric where her stuff once stood. It’s all scuffed up with a few tears and needs changing.

Comments

FlooringGoldmine
22/10/12 19:56 GMT
Discount Laminate Flooring
Factory prices laminate flooring at heavy discounts of $0.49 per square foot.
Save up to 67 per cent on retail and 33 per cent on wholesale!
We deliver anywhere!
www.discountflooringexcellentdeal.com

 

19 October
The song is still selling. We’ve slipped down the charts to number 23. The song is still banned. The news reports have slacked off a bit. But now and again I get a few comments from people on the street. I explain to everyone that my song has a liberal heart. But no one seems to believe me. Maybe they do believe me, but they say they don’t because they don’t like the fact that I’m successful. That I’m rich. Yet I tell them how I try to give my money away. To tell them that it means nothing to me. But the causes I love don’t want my money. So what can I do? I’ve decided to forget it all. To even stop writing these messages. I have gone back to what I am best at. Just a poor balladeer trying to sing the news. And I’ve written a song. Call it a kind of sign-off song for this blog. I thought about writing about how great England is. About how inclusive it is. But I couldn’t. Because it isn’t. So I rewrote my hit. I will only play this version from now one. The same music. But with new words. What more can I do? What more can an artist do?

CHORUS:

England doesn’t want you
When you sing these words
England doesn’t want you
When you sing these words

VERSE:

England hate you when
You’re making a stand
England hate you when
You defend England

(CHORUS)

VERSE:
England hate your lyrics
Chorus, verse and break
All England wanna do
Wanna do is hate

(CHORUS)

BREAK:

All England wanna do
All England wanna do
All England wanna do
Is hate
Hate you when you truth
Hate you when you lie
Hate you when you use
Your right to reply
Hate you when you’re top
Hate you when you’re low
Hate you when you got
Nowhere else to go

 

Comments

There are no comments

 

 

Leave a Reply

